My Favorite Long Tailed Weasel Picture

Back in December of 2012, while driving along the auto tour loop, at the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge, I saw something white dart across the dirt road. I slowly drove towards the spot I saw it and looked around. And, there it was. Standing up in the grass watching me in my vehicle. I took out my camera and lens, which back then, I was using a Canon 7D and the Tamron 70-300mm lens. I turned the car off and kept quiet, observing the Weasel as it darted back and forth between the grass. Eventually, it wandered out of a small clearing, close to the water, with a dead vole in it’s mouth.

I snapped off a few pictures and I guess the sound of the shutter scared the Weasel, so it took off to it’s hole in the ground. I have several other images of it, which can be seen in the Weasel Gallery . If you decide to take a look, the first 9 images are from that evening.

Leave a Reply

